Newport city hall newport city council

In Newport, all three ward council candidates are running unopposed, while four Newport County House of Representatives candidates are also running without opposition.

Some last-minute withdrawals have also avoided a primary election for the four at-large council seats as the deadline passed at 4 p.m. Friday for candidates to file their nomination papers. Here’s a look at who’s on the ballot.

Newport City Council, ward seats: Incumbent Angela McCalla is unopposed in Ward 1, incumbent Charles Holder is unopposed in Ward 2, and David R. Carlin is unopposed in Ward 3 after long-time Councilperson Kathryn Leonard withdrew from the race.

There are eight candidates for four art large seats: Incumbent Lynn Ceglie, Eames Yates, Stephanie Smyth, Incumbent Jeanne Marie Napolitano, Mark D. Aramli, Katherine Jessup, Ryan Kelly, and Xaykham Rexford Khamsyvoravng. Susan Taylor and Tyler Romero withdrew from the race.

Running unopposed for state Representatives are incumbents Terri-Denise Cortvriend (D-Dist. 72), Marvin Abney (D-Dist. 73), and Lauren Carson (D-Dist. 75). Alex Finkelman, a Democrat running in District 74 is also running unopposed. Finkelman will fill the seat currently held by Deb Ruggiero, who is running for lieutenant governor.

In other area legislative races:

  • Incumbent John G. Edwards IV, a Democrat, is being challenged by Republican Christopher M. Borden for state Representative in District 70.
  • In District 71, incumbent Michelle Elise McGaw, a Democrat, faces Independent Kobe J. Taylor.
  • Incumbent Walter Felag, a Democrat, faces Republican Allyn Edward Meyers for the Senate District 10 seat.
  • It’s a crowded race in Senate District 11 with Democrats Linda L. Ujifusa and Matthew A. Chappell in a primary election, the winner of which will face Republican Kenneth Mendonca and Independents Andrew Kelly and Mario Teixeira.
  • Incumbent Senator Louis DiPalma, D-Dist. 12, faces Republican Stephen J. Horridge.
  • Incumbent Dawn Euer, D-Dist. 13, faces Republican David Quiroa Sr.

more on election 2022


Something went wrong. Please refresh the page and/or try again.

Frank Prosnitz

Frank Prosnitz brings to WhatsUpNewp several years in journalism, including 10 as editor of the Providence (RI) Business News and 14 years as a reporter and bureau manager at the Providence (RI) Journal. Prosnitz began his journalism career as a sportswriter at the Asbury Park (NJ) Press, moving to The News Tribune (Woodbridge, NJ), before joining the Providence Journal. Prosnitz hosts the Morning Show on WLBQ radio (Westerly), 7 a.m. to 9 a.m. Monday through Friday, and It’s Your Business, also on WBLQ, Monday and Tuesday, 9 a.m. to 10 a.m.

Prosnitz has twice won Best in Business Awards from the national Society of American Business Editors and Writers (SABEW), twice was named Media Advocate of the Year by the Small Business Administration, won an investigative reporter’s award from the New England Press Association, and newswriting award from the Rhode Island Press Association.