Rhode Island State House

In statewide and local elections, the field of candidates narrowed today as some candidates withdrew from races, and several others were unable to gather the necessary number of signatures on nomination papers that would have placed them on the September primary or November general election ballots.

Nomination papers for statewide and Congressional officers were returned directly to the state, with the Secretary of State’s office reporting both the raw number of signatures and the number of signatures certified. The certified numbers were far from complete at 8:20 p.m. The deadline for submission was 4 p.m.

For all other offices, papers were submitted to the local Boards of Canvassers, which certified the signatures. 

Here’s a look at the statewide races, according to the numbers posted on the Secretary of State’s website at 8:20 p.m.

  • Governor’s race
    • Democratic Gubernatorial Primary. Those who gathered sufficient signatures were Gov. Dan McKee, Secretary of State Nellie Gorbea, former Secretary of State Matt Brown, and former CVS executive Helena Buonanno Foulkes. Dr. Louis Daniel Munoz was about 177 signatures shy of the 1,000 required.
    • Republican gubernatorial race. Only Ashley Kalus gathered enough signatures. Four other Republicans had filed declaration papers, but none came close to gathering the required number of signatures.
    • Independents. None gathered enough signatures.
  • U.S. House of Representatives, second district.
    • Democrats that gathered the 500 signatures required were: General Treasurer Seth Magaziner, former state Rep. Spencer Dickinson, and Joy Fox. David Segal came up four signatures short, and Sarah E. Morgenthau was short 77 signatures. Again, important to note, that it is possible that the Secretary of State’s office had not yet posted all results.
    • Former Cranston Mayor Allan W. Fung was the lone Republican to qualify, while William H. Gilbert of the Moderate Party also has sufficient signatures to appear on the ballot.
  • U.S. House of Representatives, first district.
    • Congressman David Cicilline faces off against Republican Allen R. Waters.
  • Lieutenant Governor.
    • There are three Democrats that have qualified for the Democratic primary: incumbent Sabina Matos, Deborah Ruggiero, and Cynthia Mendes.
    • A Republican primary will pit Aaron Gluckian against Paul E. Pence.
    • Independent Ross I. McCurdy also has qualified for the November ballot.
  • Attorney General
    • Incumbent Peter E. Neronha is being challenged by Republican Charles Calenda.
  • General Treasurer
    • A Democratic primary election will pit former Commerce Secretary Stefan Pryor against former Central Falls Mayor James A. Diossa.
    • The Republican candidate is James L. Lathrop.
  • Secretary of State
    • While there were three Democrats that filed declaration papers. Only Gregg Amore submitted nomination papers with enough signatures. He’ll face Republican Pat V. Cortellessa.

More on election 2022

Takeaways: Trump tightens grip on GOP, narrow Squad victory

After an uneven start, Donald Trump’s election-year tour of revenge succeeded in ousting Republican members of Congress, boosting Trump-backed “America First” candidates who beat back the establishment and strengthening his grip on the party.

Balint wins Vermont’s Democratic primary for US House

The leader of Vermont’s state Senate, Becca Balint, won the Democratic Party primary on Tuesday for Vermont’s lone seat in the U.S. House of Representatives, meaning she could become the first woman and the first openly gay person to represent the state in Congress.


Something went wrong. Please refresh the page and/or try again.

Frank Prosnitz

Frank Prosnitz brings to WhatsUpNewp several years in journalism, including 10 as editor of the Providence (RI) Business News and 14 years as a reporter and bureau manager at the Providence (RI) Journal. Prosnitz began his journalism career as a sportswriter at the Asbury Park (NJ) Press, moving to The News Tribune (Woodbridge, NJ), before joining the Providence Journal. Prosnitz hosts the Morning Show on WLBQ radio (Westerly), 7 a.m. to 9 a.m. Monday through Friday, and It’s Your Business, also on WBLQ, Monday and Tuesday, 9 a.m. to 10 a.m.

Prosnitz has twice won Best in Business Awards from the national Society of American Business Editors and Writers (SABEW), twice was named Media Advocate of the Year by the Small Business Administration, won an investigative reporter’s award from the New England Press Association, and newswriting award from the Rhode Island Press Association.