The 295-foot United States Coast Guard Barque Eagle,  the flagship of the U.S. Coast Guard, is returning to Newport this summer.

The Eagle serves as a training vessel for cadets at the Coast Guard Academy and candidates from the Officer Candidate School. The Eagle is the only active-duty sailing vessel in America’s military, and one of only two commissioned sailing vessels, along with the USS Constitution.

The 295-foot Barque Eagle is the flagship of the U.S. Coast Guard.

“We are extremely excited to be getting back underway for a full summer training season and look forward to the opportunity to sail abroad and engage with our international partners,” said Captain Michael Turdo in a statement posted on Barque Eagle’s Facebook Page.

According to the schedule released, the Eagle will arrive in Newport on Friday, July 30 and will depart on Monday, August 2.

In past visits to Newport, the Eagle has been open for public tours. According to the Eagle’s website, scheduled tour times are released to local media before each port call.

2021 Schedule

DateLocation
Saturday, 08 MayDepart New London, CT Embark Cadets, Cadet Phase I Begins
Tuesday, 25 May
Friday, 28 May
Arrive Azores, Portugal
Depart Azores, Portugal
Friday, 11 June
Saturday, 12 June
Wednesday, 16 June
Arrive Reykjavik, Iceland
Phase Change, Cadet Phase II Begins
Depart Reykjavik, Iceland
Wednesday, 07 July
Saturday, 10 July
Arrive Hamilton, Bermuda
Depart Hamilton, Bermuda
Friday, 23 July
Saturday, 24 July
Monday, 26 July
Arrive New London, CT
Phase Change, Swab Short Phase I Begins
Depart New London, CT
Friday, 30 July
Saturday, 31 July
Monday, 02 August
Arrive Newport, RI
Phase Change, Swab Short Phase II Begins
Depart Newport, RI
Friday, 06 August
Saturday, 07 August
Monday, 09 August
Arrive Portland, ME
Phase Change, Swab Short Phase III Begins
Depart Portland, ME
Friday, 13 August
Saturday, 14 August
Arrive New London, CT
Disembark Cadets, Summer Training Ends

More From What’s Up Newp

Ryan M. Belmore

Ryan M. Belmore is the Owner & Publisher of What's Up Newp. Ryan is a member of Local Independent Online News (LION) Publishers and serves on the Board of Directors for Fort Adams Trust and Lucy's Hearth. Send questions, tips, and story ideas to Ryan@whatsupnewp.com.