Newport city hall newport city council

Last updated at 7 pm on June 27th.

Beginning today candidates for statewide and local office will begin filing their declarations of candidacy, a process that runs through Wednesday (June 27) for local candidates and Thursday for federal and statewide general officeholders.. It is the first major step in a process that will culminate in the General Election on November 6.

Here is the list of Newport residents who have declared as of June 25 at 4:30 PM, according to  Tracy Nelson at the Canvassing & Elections office for the City of Newport.

This list will be updated on Tuesday and Wednesday after 4:30 pm and/or as we receive updates of declarations. Check back for updates.

*Senator In Congress (Currently held by Sheldon Whitehouse)

  1. Sheldon Whitehouse (Democrat)

*Governor (Currently held by Gina Raimondo)

  1. Giovanni Feroce (Republican)

*Senate District 13 (Currently held by Dawn Euer)

  1. Dawn Euer (Democrat)
  2. Matthew Paul Perry (Republican)

*State Representative District 73 (Currently held by Marvin Abney)

  1. Marvin Abney (Democrat)
  2. David A. Quiora (Republican)
  3. David Quiora (Independent)

State Representative District 75 (Currently held by Lauren Carson)

  1. Lauren Carson (Democrat)

Newport City Council At-Large (Currently held by Jamie Bova, Marco Camacho, Jeanne-Marie Napolitano, & Harry Winthrop)

  1. Jeanne-Marie Napolitano
  2. Marco Camacho
  3. Jamie Bova
  4. Susan Taylor
  5. Justin McLaughlin
  6. Wick Rudd
  7. Hugo Deascentis

Newport City Council Ward 3 (Currently held by Kate Leonard)

  1. Kate Leonard
  2. Peter Harty Update: July 10 – Peter Harty withdraws from Ward 3 Newport City Council race

Newport City Council Ward 2 (Currently held by Lynn Ceglie)

  1. Liam Barry
  2. Lynn Ceglie
  3. Valerie Larkin

Newport City Council Ward 1 (Currently by Susan Taylor)

  1. James Dring
  2. Angela McCalla

Newport School Committee (Currently by Raymond E. Gomes, David C. Hanos, Jr., Ms. Kathleen Silvia, David R. Carlin III, Sandra J. Flowers,  Ph.D.,  Jo Eva Gaines, and Rebecca Bolan)

  1. Karlie Cesarini
  2. Sandra Flowers
  3. Aida Neary
  4. David Carlin III
  5. Rebecca Bolan
  6. Louisa Boatwright
  7. Kathleen Silvia
  8. Raymond Gomes
  9. David Hanos JR.
  10. Robert Leary
  11. Veronica Rynn
  12. Kelly Lohrum
  13. Francis Landry

*These seats are statewide or represent more than one city/town. This list only represents those Newport residents who have declared, and not candidates who may have filed in their hometown for a seat that also represents Newport.

To see a list of federal and state candidates by office or to see a list of candidates by a municipality, visit

Following the filing of Declarations of Candidacy, the state parties and local town committees will meet and offer endorsements to their preferred candidates. Some town committees have already made their endorsements.

On July 3, candidates pick up their nomination papers, which are due back at their local Board of Canvassers, with the required number of signatures on July 16. The following day is the deadline for candidates to withdraw their candidacies.