- Advertisement -

On Sunday, January 28, 2018, Emmanuel Church, Newport, held its 166th Annual Meeting.

Over 60 parishioners heard reports of ministries and plans for new programs and community partnerships. The 2018  budget was reviewed.

The congregation elected Vestry members: Ellen Vadney as Senior Warden,  Annie Sherman as  Jr. Warden, Ron Fleming as Treasurer, Cynthia Larned as Assistant Treasurer and Sarah Atkins for a fifth one year term as secretary. New Vestry members Vicki Hicks, Ken Venancio and Micah Sybor join these officers and Vestry members at large: Courtney Crimi. Janet Park and Deb Venancio (for a second full Vestry at-large term position) Convention delegates and deanery representatives were elected: Li Hargrove and Ron Fleming with Steve MacAusland and Ellen Vadney serving as alternates to these positions.

The Rev’d Chris Cassels, of St Luke’s East Greenwich, and Emmanuel parishioners Sandy Chapman and Judy Rhee were elected to serve on the Audit Committee. The Rector thanked outgoing Vestry members Lil Hargrove and Doug Poskitt for their service.

After a finance report by the treasurer, Ron Fleming, the congregation learned that longtime member Jeanette Rideout, co-chair of the Altar Guild, was granted the annual “Saints Among us” recognition. Longtime parishioner Nancy Allan was awarded the Bertha Butts Award for Service to Emmanuel.

For more information on Emmanuel Church, visit www.emmanuelnewport.org/.

- Advertisement -

Ryan Belmore is the Publisher of What'sUpNewp. 
Belmore has been involved with What’sUpNewp since shortly after its launch in 2012, proudly leading it to be named Best Local News Blog in Rhode Island by Rhode Island Monthly readers in 2018, 2019, and 2020 and an honorable mention in the Common Good Awards in 2021.

Born and raised in Rhode Island, Belmore graduated from Coventry High School and the Community College of Rhode Island. In addition to living in Newport for 10 years, he has lived in Portsmouth, Coventry, Providence, Smithfield, Burrillville, and East Greenwich.

Belmore currently serves as Vice President of the Board Of Directors for Fort Adams Trust and on the Board of Directors for Potter League For Animals. He previously served on the Board of Lucy's Hearth and the Arts & Cultural Alliance for Newport County.

Belmore and his wife, Jen, currently live in Alexandria, Virginia, a move they made in 2021. Read more about that here - https://whatsupnewp.com/2021/09/letter-from-the-publisher-some-personal-news/

Belmore visits Newport every couple of weeks to support the 12+ paid contributors What'sUpNewp has on the ground across Rhode Island, a place he called home for 39 years.

Belmore is a member of Local Independent Online News (LION) Publishers, Society of Professional Journalists, and the North American Snowsports Journalists Association.

In 2020, Belmore was named Member of the Year by LION and won the Arts & Cultural Alliance of Newport County's Dominque Award.
Belmore can be contacted at ryan@whatsupnewp.com and 401-662-1653.