1st Ward Newport City Councilor Marco Camacho confirmed with What’sUpNewp  on Saturday afternoon that he intends to run for re-election to the Newport City Council, representing the 1st Ward.

Councilor John Florez, Lynne Ceglie, Kate Leonard and Jeanne-Marie Napolitano also have announced their intent on running for re-election in November.

Anyone looking to run for election or re-election on the Newport City Council (and other state offices) must register to run by the last Monday, Tuesday or Wednesday of June.

The City of Newport operates under a home rule charter, the charter provides for a Council/City Manager form of government.

The Council is comprised of seven members; one representative is elected from the City’s three voting wards and four are elected at-large, all for two year terms. The Mayor is elected by the Council from among the four at-large councilors.

Newport City Council


Something went wrong. Please refresh the page and/or try again.