Lynn Ceglie has announced her intention to run for re-election to the Newport City Council representing the 2nd Ward.

Ceglie is the first City Council member to announce her intent to run for re-election in November.

“It is an honor to represent the residents of the 2nd Ward.  I have had the opportunity to focus on many issues and projects that have helped residents and businesses alike.  I look forward to working on improving Newport’s infrastructure, educational system, livability and vibrancy”, Ceglie shared with What’sUpNewp.

Ceglie is serving her first term on the Newport City Councilworking as a liaison to the Newport School Committee, the Edward King Senior Center, the Newport Public Education Foundation, the Historic Cemetery Commission and the Broadway Merchants Association.  She is a past vice chairwoman of the Newport Zoning Board of Review, a member of the 375th Anniversary Committee and the 2007 Charter Review Commission.

A graduate of the University of Hartford with a bachelor’s degree in mass communications, Ceglie has worked for East Bay Community Action Program screening preschool age children for speech/language and developmental delays.  She has also designed interactive training programs for the Navy and Gilbane Building Company, she said.
Ceglie lives in Newport with her husband, Vincent, and is the mother of two Rogers High School graduates, Mia, who attends Rhode Island College and Chase, who attends the Berklee College of Music in Boston.

“I have worked hard to be responsive to all Newport residents focusing on the neighborhoods of the 2nd Ward. My goal will always be to contribute to a high quality of life in this beautiful city we are so lucky to call home,” Ceglie said.

Newport City Council

The City of Newport operates under a home rule charter.

The Charter provides for a Council/City Manager form of government.

The Council is comprised of seven members; one representative is elected from the City’s three voting wards and four are elected at-large, all for two year terms.

The Mayor is elected by the Council from among the four at-large councilors.

More from What'sUpNewp

Jewish holiday recipes for everyone to try

For eating experiences that can be enjoyed year-round, Stacker compiled a list of 15 global Jewish holiday recipes and their histories from, news reports, Jewish historical sites, and Jewish recipe developers.


Something went wrong. Please refresh the page and/or try again.

Ryan Belmore is the Owner and Publisher of What'sUpNewp. 
Belmore has been involved with What’sUpNewp since shortly after its launch in 2012, proudly leading it to be named Best Local News Blog in Rhode Island by Rhode Island Monthly readers in 2018, 2019, and 2020 and an honorable mention in the Common Good Awards in 2021.

Born and raised in Rhode Island, Belmore graduated from Coventry High School and the Community College of Rhode Island. In addition to living in Newport for 10 years, he has lived in Portsmouth, Coventry, Providence, Smithfield, Burrillville, and East Greenwich.

Belmore currently serves as Vice President of the Board Of Directors for Fort Adams Trust and on the Board of Directors for Potter League For Animals. He previously served on the Board of Lucy's Hearth and the Arts & Cultural Alliance for Newport County.

Belmore and his wife, Jen, currently live in Alexandria, Virginia, a move they made in 2021. Read more about that here -

Belmore visits Newport every couple of weeks to support the 12+ paid contributors What'sUpNewp has on the ground across Rhode Island, a place he called home for 39 years.

Belmore is a member of Local Independent Online News (LION) Publishers, Society of Professional Journalists, and the North American Snowsports Journalists Association.

In 2020, Belmore was named Member of the Year by LION and won the Arts & Cultural Alliance of Newport County's Dominque Award.
Belmore can be contacted at and 401-662-1653.