International Tennis Hall Of Fame

The following information was provided by the International Tennis Hall of Fame & Museum;

NEWPORT, R.I., November 2, 2015Nine individuals hailing from varied backgrounds in business, media, and technology, but all with a shared passion for the sport of tennis have been elected to the Board of Governors of the International Tennis Hall of Fame.

The new Governors are Lakshman Charanjiva, Vice President and CIO for NextEra Energy, Inc; Guy Forget, a French tennis star and former world No. 4 on the ATP World Tour; Tom Glocer, Founder and Managing Partner of Angelic Ventures, LP;  Bob Jeffrey, Non-Executive Chairman of J. Walter Thompson; Hall of Famer Brad Parks, who pioneered the sport of wheelchair tennis; Lara Spencer, co-host of Good Morning America; Dana Tananbaum, a lifelong tennis player and philanthropist; Gary Tolman, an insurance executive, who served as President and CEO of Esurance from 2000-2015; and Kurt Wright, CEO of Quadrant Real Estate Advisors.

“We are grateful that these individuals are willing to volunteer their time, talents, and resources to helping the International Tennis Hall of Fame grow in our mission to preserve tennis history and celebrate its great champions. This group of individuals was elected unanimously, and it is a pleasure to welcome each of them to the International Tennis Hall of Fame’s Board of Governors,” commented ITHF Chairman Christopher Clouser.

The new members of the Board of Governors will begin their terms on January 1, 2016. Each will serve the organization in various capacities ranging from work with the museum to development of the Hall of Fame’s enshrinement programs and annual ATP World Tour tennis tournament, as well as supporting vital functions including fundraising and marketing for the non-profit organization. Located in Newport, Rhode Island, the International Tennis Hall of Fame is dedicated to preserving and celebrating the history of tennis, honoring its greatest champions, and inspiring its future.

About the International Tennis Hall of Fame
Established in 1954, the International Tennis Hall of Fame is a non-profit institution dedicated to preserving the history of tennis, inspiring and encouraging junior tennis development, providing a landmark for tennis enthusiasts worldwide, and enshrining tennis heroes and heroines with the highest honor in the sport of tennis- induction into the International Tennis Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame is located in Newport, Rhode Island, USA, on a seven-acre property that features an extensive museum that showcases the history of the sport and honors the 243 Hall of Famers; 13 grass tennis courts and an indoor tennis facility; a rare Court Tennis facility; and an historic 297-seat theatre. Annually in July, the venue hosts the Hall of Fame Tennis Championships for the Van Alen Cup, an ATP World Tour event. For information on the International Tennis Hall of Fame and its programs, visit

More From What'sUpNewp


Something went wrong. Please refresh the page and/or try again.