vote pin back buttons
Photo by Sora Shimazaki on

Let the games begin.

Monday was the first day for candidates to declare for office in the 2022 primary and general elections. Candidates were required to file the declaration papers by 4 pm on Wednesday, June 29.

This story will continue to be updated.

U.S. House of Representatives, District 2

  • General Treasurer Seth Magaziner (D)
  • Spencer E. Dickinson (D)
  • David A. Segal (D)
  • Donald L. Keith D)
  • Cameron M. Moquin (D)
  • Joy Fox (D)
  • Omar Bah (D)
  • Sarah E. Morgenthau (D)
  • Allan W. Fung (R)
  • Dolad Frederick Robbio (R)
  • John D. Ritchie (I)
  • Donn M. Antonia (I)
  • Patricia A. Landy (I)
  • William H. Gilbert (I-Moderate Party of RI)

U.S. House of Representatives, District 1

  • Incumbent David N. Cicilline (D)
  • Allen R. Waters (R)
  • Frederick Wysocki (R)
  • Lenine P. Camacho (I)
  • Jeffrey E. Lemire (I)


  • Incumbent Daniel J. McKee (D)
  • Helena Buonanno Foulkes (D)
  • Matthew A. Brown (D)
  • Luis Munoz Jr. (D)
  • Nellie M Gorbea (D)
  • Kalilu Camara (D)
  • Emmanuel Boateng Adjei (R)
  • Jonathan J Riccitelli (R)
  • Michael J. Costa (R)
  • Ashley Marie Kalus (R)
  • Rey A. Herrera Jr. (R)
  • Elijah J. Gizzarelli (I – Libertarian)
  • James T. Aubin (I– Libertarian)
  • Zachary Baker Hurwitz (I)
  • Paul A. Rianna Jr. (I)

Lieutenant Governor

  • Deborah Ruggiero (D)
  • Cynthia M Mendes (D)
  • Incumbent Sabina Matos (D)
  • Lawrence Valencia (D)
  • Aaron Guckian (R)
  • Paul E. Pence (R)
  • Ross I. McCurdy (I)
  • Keith A Harrison (I)

Attorney General

  • Incumbent Peter F. Neronha (D)
  • Charles Calenda (R)
  • Rebecca Lynne McLaughlin (I)
  • Alan Gordon (I)

General Treasurer

  • Stefan I. Pryor (D)
  • James A. Diossa (D)
  • James L. Lathrop (R)

Secretary of State

  • Gregg Amore (D)
  • Anthony N.B. Tamba (D)
  • Stephen E Beaute (D)
  • Pat V. Cortellessa (R)
  • Ann Armostrong (I – Compassion Party)

State Senate, District 10, Tiverton, Warren

  • Incumbent Walter Felag (D)
  • Allyn Meyers (R)

State Senate, District 11, Portsmouth, Bristol

  • Linda L. Ujifusa (D)
  • Matthew A. Chappell (D)
  • Kenneth J. Mendonca (R)
  • Mario J Teixeira (I)
  • Andrew V. Kelly (I)

State Senate, District 12, Little Compton, Middletown, Newport, Tiverton

  • Incumbent Louis DiPalma (D)
  • Stephen J. Horridge (R)

State Senate, District 13, Jamestown, Newport

  • Incumbent Dawn Euer (D)
  • David Quiroa Sr. (R)

State Rep., District 70, Tiverton

  • Incumbent John G. Edwards IV (D)
  • Christopher M. Borden (R)

State Rep., District 71, Portsmouth, Tiverton & Little Compton

  • Incumbent Michelle Elise McGaw (D)
  • Kobe J. Taylor (I)

State Rep. District 72, Portsmouth & Middletown

  • Incumbent Terri-Denise Cortvriend (D)

State Rep., District 73, Newport and Middletown

  • Incumbent Marvin Abney (D)

State Rep., District 74, Jamestown, Middletown

  • Alex S. Finkelman (D)

State Rep., District 75, Newport.

  • Incumbent Lauren Carson (D)

Newport City Council

Ward 1 (1 seat open)

  • Incumbent Angela McCalla

Ward 2 (1 seat open)

  • Incumbent Charles Holder

Ward 3 (1 seat open)

  • Incumbent Kathryn Leonard
  • David R. Carlin

At-Large (4 seats open)

  • Incumbent Lynn Ceglie
  • Eames Yates
  • Stephanie Smyth
  • Incumbent Jeanne Marie Napolitano
  • Mark D. Aramli
  • Tyler J. Romero
  • Xaykham Rexford Khamsyvoravong
  • Katherine A. Jessup
  • Ryan P. Kelley
  • Suan D. Taylor

[Related – Jamie Bova won’t seek reelection to Newport City Council]

Newport School Committee (7 seats open)

  • Incumbent Sandra J. Flowers
  • Incumbent James Dring
  • Incumbent Louisa Boatwright
  • Incumbent Rebecca Bolan
  • Kendra Wilson Muenter
  • Incumbent Stephanie Winslow
  • Robert B. Power
  • Incumbent Robert J. Leary

[Related – Ray Gomes won’t seek reelection on Newport School Committee]

Middletown Town Council (7 seats open)

  • Incumbent Paul M. Rodrigues
  • Incumbent Christopher M. Logan
  • Incumbent Barbara A. VonVillas
  • Incumbent M Theresa Santos
  • Incumbent Dennis B Turano
  • Incumbent Thomas P. Welch III
  • Lawrence Frank
  • Antone Viveiros
  • Emily M. Tessier
  • Peter Daniel Connerton Sr.

Middletown School Committee (3 seats open)

  • Incumbent Liana Ferreira-Fenton
  • Incumbent Theresa Spengler
  • Wendy E. Heaney
  • Gregory M. Huet

Portsmouth Town Council

  • Charles Levesque (D)
  • J Mark Ryan (D)
  • Kevin M Aguiar (D)
  • Daniela T Abbott (D)
  • Juan Carlos Payero (D)
  • Leonard B Katzman (D)
  • Timoty E. Grissett (D)
  • David M Gleason (R)
  • Keith Hamilton (R)
  • Sharlene Patton (R)
  • Stephen Joshua Zolnik (R)
  • Michael DiPaola (I)
  • Warren L. Caldwell III (I)

Portsmouth School Committee

  • Emily Egginton Skeehan (D)
  • Frederick W. Faerber III (D)
  • Isabelle Altman Kelly (D)
  • Sondra A. Blank (D)

Town Council Incumbents Andrew Kelly and Linda Ujifusa have announced that they will run for Senate District 11 (Portsmouth, Bristol).

Little Compton

  • Town Clerk – Incumbent Carol Wordell (R)
  • Town Council
    • Patrick McHugh (D)
    • Andrew Wilder Iriarte Moore (D)
    • Robert L. Mushen (R)
    • Paul J. Golembeske (R)
    • David A. Beauchemin (R)
    • Gary S. Mataronas (R)
    • Maureen Rego (R)
    • Mike Folcarelli (I)
    • Polly G. Allen (I)
  • Town Moderator – Scott Morrison (R)
  • School Committee
    • Megan T. Gonzalez (D)
    • Mark A. Gleicher (D)
    • Travis H. Auty (D)
    • Jonathan F. Babbitt (R)
    • Susan E. Kinnane (R)
    • Brandon E. Pineo (R)
    • Carol A. Wardell (R)


  • Town Council
    • Michael S. Burk
    • Joseph C. Perry Jr.
    • Deborah G Janick
    • John G Edwards V
    • Jay Phillip Edwards
    • Denise M DeMedeiros
    • Dennis J. Milbourne
  • Town Clerk – Joan B. Chabot
  • School Committee
    • Elaine Pavao
    • Deborah Pallasch
    • Charles Page III
  • Judge of Probate – Richard P. D’Addario (D)
  • Budget Committee – Daniel J. Deren


  • Town Council
    • Nancy A Beye (D)
    • Kristine A. Lapierre (D)
    • Mary E. Meagher (D)
    • Michael G. White (D)
    • Randall White (D)
  • School Committee
    • Kristine A. Lapierre (D)
    • Christian H. Cowan (D)
  • Town Moderator – John Austin Murphy (D)

Candidates for all local and statewide offices must file their declaration of candidacy this week (between Monday and close of business on Wednesday).

Election 2022


Something went wrong. Please refresh the page and/or try again.

More From What'sUpNewp


Something went wrong. Please refresh the page and/or try again.