The International Tennis Hall of Fame has amended the Policies & Procedures of Enshrinement, specifically for the Contributor Category.

They write in a press release;

Starting with the Class of 2021, the eligibility criteria for the Contributor Category has been amended to be defined as “a true pioneer, visionary leader, or individual / group who has made a transcendent impact on the sport.”

Previously, the eligibility criteria only allowed for individuals to be considered for induction. The amended criteria now provides for eligibility for groups of individuals who acted together to make tennis history to be considered.

Nominations are now open for the International Tennis Hall of Fame Class of 2021. That year will mark the first time that the Contributor Category will be eligible for induction since 2017, when the organization shifted to a cycle of every four years for Contributor Category inductions.

As has traditionally been the case, anyone can submit a nomination for those they believe to be deserving of consideration. Fans, media, and industry leaders are encouraged to submit nominations online for any of the Hall of Fame’s three induction categories (Player, Contributor, or Wheelchair Tennis) at

The deadline to submit a nomination for consideration for the Class of 2021 is April 1, 2020.

About the Contributor Category 

The Contributor Category honors individuals or groups who have made a transcendent impact on the sport. Past Contributor Category inductees have included coaches, broadcasters, administrators, promoters, inventors, and manufacturing professionals.

The ITHF Policies & Procedures of Enshrinement allow for up to two candidates to be on the ballot in the Contributor Category. Per the amendment cited above, those two candidates can be two individuals, two groups, or one individual and one group.

Eligibility for consideration in the Contributor Category is fully defined as:

  • A true pioneer, visionary leader, or individual / group who has made a transcendent impact on the sport.
  • Either five years removed from committed work in tennis, or at least 65 years of age.
  • Consideration given to integrity, sportsmanship, and character.

Schedule of Eligibility

The International Tennis Hall of Fame offers three induction categories: Player, Contributor, and Wheelchair.

The Player Category is eligible for induction consideration annually, while the Contributor Category and Wheelchair Tennis Category are eligible every four years, on an alternating cycle. The upcoming schedule of eligibility is as follows:

  • Class of 2020: Player Category (Nominations and voting are closed; Class will be announced in January at the Australian Open)
  • Class of 2021: Player Category and Contributor Category
  • Class of 2022: Player Category
  • Class of 2023: Player Category and Wheelchair Tennis Category
  • Class of 2024: Player Category
  • Class of 2025: Player Category and Contributor Category

Induction into the International Tennis Hall of Fame is the ultimate honor in tennis. It represents the sum of a candidate’s achievements and contributions as being among the most important and transformative in the sport’s history.

Additional information about the enshrinement process and nomination forms for all three categories are available on 

Submit a Nomination

The Latest From What's Up Newp

Never Miss A Story, Sign Up For Our Newsletter

Ryan Belmore is the Owner & Publisher of What's Up Newp, LLC. Belmore has led What's Up Newp since December 2012. Belmore also serves as the Sr. Editor - North America for Mountain News - publisher of OnTheSnow. In his spare time, Belmore serves as the Vice President for the Board of Directors at Fort Adams Trust and serves on the Board of Directors at Lucy's Hearth. Belmore is also a member and supporter of Local Independent Online News (LION) Publishers. Send questions, tips, and story ideas to