Newport city hall newport city council
Newport City Hall.

Newport resident Peter Harty has confirmed with What’sUpNewp that he has submitted his declaration of candidacy with Newport City Hall and will run for the 3rd Ward seat on Newport City Council.

“My interest in serving on the Newport City Council is to address issues of community and economic development such as housing affordability, gentrification and diversifying our seasonal hospitality centric industry into a 21st-century year-round economy,” Peter Harty wrote in an email to What’sUpNewp.

Hardy will challenge Kathryn Leonard for the 3rd Ward Councilor seat on Newport City Council.  It is possible that more residents could come forward in this and other races in the city.  Candidates running for election or re-election on the Newport City Council (and other state offices) must declare their candidacy by the end of today at Newport City Hall.

“I bring 30 years of professional experience in financial services, healthcare and energy management ranging from a strategic transformation, project management and consulting services. Additionally, I have served on local government zoning boards of review, master planning committee and a Newport based non-profit board of directors” Harty said.

As of 5 pm on Tuesday, Angela McCalla and James Dring have declared their candidacy for the 1st Ward Councilor seat on Newport City Council.  That seat was held by Susan Taylor, who has announced she will seek an At-Large seat on the Council. Jeanne-Marie Napolitano, Jamie Bova, and Marco Camacho have declared their candidacy and are seeking re-election on the Council At-Large. For the 2nd Ward Councilor seat, Liam Barry and Valerie Larkin are challenging Lynn Ceglie.

The City of Newport operates under a home rule charter, the charter provides for a Council/City Manager form of government.

The Council is comprised of seven members; one representative is elected from the City’s three voting wards and four are elected at-large, all for two-year terms. The Mayor is elected by the Council from among the four at-large councilors.