Newport city hall newport city council

There is change of leadership coming for both the Newport School Committee and Newport City Council.

Last night, Newport School Committee unanimously voted David Hanos as Chair of the Newport School Committee. Ray Gomes, who is a newcomer to the Committee and was top vote-getter on November 8th, will serve as Vice-Chair.

What’sUpNewp has confirmed that former Mayor Harry Winthrop will officially become Newport’s next Mayor at Inauguration of the new council on December 4th. Winthrop and current Mayor Jeanne-Marie Napolitano were both vying for the position, but Winthrop gained the support of Councilor Florez and newcomers Jamie Bova and Susan Taylor to secure the votes needed.

In 1990, Harry was elected to the Newport City Council and served terms from 1990-1993, 1995, and then from 2011-2012. In August 2012, Harry was elected Mayor of the City of Newport, and held that Office until December 2014.

The official vote for Mayor is expected to take place at Newport City Council’s meeting on Wednesday night.

The City of Newport operates under a home rule charter, the charter provides for a Council/City Manager form of government. The Council is comprised of seven members; one representative is elected from the City’s three voting wards and four are elected at-large, all for two year terms.

Ryan Belmore is the Owner and Publisher of What'sUpNewp.  Belmore has been involved with What’sUpNewp since shortly after its launch in 2012, proudly leading it to be named Best Local News Blog in...