City Councilors will be holding interviews this Wednesday and Thursday with applicants vying to fill a vacancy left on the School Committee following the resignation of Kathleen M. Silvia.
In all, a total of eight candidates have submitted applications to serve out the remainder of Silvia’s term.

Interviews are scheduled to be held over a two-day span on Wednesday, March 4th and Thursday, March 5th, 2020 beginning at 5:30 p.m. in the Second Floor Conference Room or Council Chamber at City Hall and will be open to the public.

On Wednesday, March 4th, interviews will include:

  • James Dring
  • David Sklarz, Ed.D.
  • David Vieira
  • Jennifer Jackson

On Thursday, March 5th, interviews will include:

  • Robert Power, Ed.D.
  • Michael Cullen
  • Elizabeth Murphy
  • Stephanie Winslow

Each session will consist of four 20-minute interview slots, with four applicants interviewed per day.  The order for the interviews was determined at random, and the City is currently confirming availability with the interviewees. 
The City Council’s actual vote to appoint one of the applicants will be held in open session at a future meeting.
According to the City Charter, City Councilors are charged with filling, “any vacancy arising from death, resignation or any reason in the membership of the School Committee within thirty (30) days after learning of the vacancy or as soon thereafter as may be possible by a majority vote of all members of the Council; provided, however, the Council shall provide for the public solicitation of applicants.”
Silvia resigned her seat effective Jan. 27th, 2020. Whomever is appointed to fill the vacancy will serve only until a person is elected and qualified at the next municipal election, scheduled to take place on Tuesday, Nov. 3rd.

The Latest From WUN

Ryan Belmore has been the Owner & Publisher of What's Up Newp since 2012. He also currently works for Mountain News, where he serves as Senior Editor - North America for OnTheSnow. He previously worked for the New England Patriots and American Cancer Society. He currently serves as Vice President of Fort Adams Trust and is a member of Local Independent Online News (LION) Publishers and North American Snowsports Journalists Association (NASJA).