Newport Gateway Center

Newport’s Transportation and Visitors Center was among several award winners at Grow Smart RI’s Power of Place Summit earlier today (Thursday, March 29).

The awards were presented at Grow Smart’s Power of Place Summit, held at the Rhode Island Convention Center and attended by some 500 business, civic, and elected leaders.

The Visitors Center was among three winners in the Smart Growth Projects Category. The other category winners were Fair House, Warwick and Forbes Street Solar Project, East Providence.

Grow Smart specifically mentioned the use during construction of “recycled materials pedestrian safety enhancements, bike-friendly features, and resilient green infrastructure, including permeable pavers and rain gardens.”

They also noted the center’s role in mitigating “traffic congestion’ and encouraging “more active forms of transport.”

Winners in other categories were: Dr. Nicole Alexander-Scott, MD, MPH, Director of RI Department of Health, Outstanding Smart Growth Leader; and Central Falls Green and Complete Streets Ordinance, for policies and plans.


Something went wrong. Please refresh the page and/or try again.