The Newport Police Department was forced to tow 11 vehicles during the 20-hour parking ban this weekend, according to ABC 6.

A Parking Ban went into effect in Newport at 12 p.m. on Saturday and remained in effect until 8 a.m. on Sunday morning, during that time dozens of plows worked to remove 12 – 14″ of snow from the streets of Newport.

The number of streets included in parking bans was increased from 9 to 24 in 2016 in City Council belief that it would give the Department of Public Services “the ability to better serve residents during winter events  and will improve general snow removal relating services during and after storm events”.

The streets included in the updated Parking Ban ordinance are Annandale Road, Bellevue Avenue: (Kay Street to Bowery St), Bedlow Avenue, Bliss Road, Broadway, Coggeshall Avenue, Dr. Marcus Wheatland Boulevard, East Bowery Street, Farewell Street, Friendship Street, Gibbs Avenue, Gould Street, Kay Street, Powell Avenue, Spring Street, Summer Street, Thames Street, Third Street, Warner Street, Washington Street, Washington Square, West Narragansett Avenue, William Street, and Van Zandt Avenue, from J.T. Connell Memorial Road East to Malbone Road.

The Parking Ban list has been pared down over several years from a much longer list that once included 69 streets as far back as 1978.

Kirsten Glavin at ABC 6 also reported Pawtucket Police were forced to tow 43 cars, while Warwick towed 3.

After the snow and Parking Ban ended, the Newport PoliceDepartment shared their appreciation to those assisted them by not parking on streets that fall on the Parking Ban list, and their hope that “all” will be ready for the next storm.


Ryan Belmore is the Owner and Publisher of What's Up Newp. He was born and raised in Rhode Island and graduated from Coventry High School. He serves as Vice President of Fort Adams Trust and serves on the Board of Directors for Potter League for Animals. Ryan also is currently the Senior Editor - North America for Mountain News, publisher of OnTheSnow. Ryan is a member of Local Independent Online News (LION) Publishers and North American Snowsports Journalists Association (NASJA).