Change. It’s coming soon to the Newport City Council and Newport School Committee, according to unofficial results from the Rhode Island Board of Directions.

Note: Rhode Island Board Of Elections says that Mail ballots will continue to be tabulated tomorrow and possibly Thursday. When finished, the results will be added.

On December 4th, our local Inauguration Day, Newport City Council will say goodbye to Naomi Neville and Just McLaughlin, welcome Jamie Bova and will welcome back Harry Winthrop.

Voters had the option to choose four out of seven candidates (or write-in their own candidate) to fill the four At-Large seats on the Newport City Council. It should be noted that one of those candidates, Kimberly L. Shute, has dropped out of the race.

Jamie Bova, Claude Andrews Lavarre and Henry Winthrop ran against current City Councilors – John Florez, Jeanne Marie Napolitano and Justin McLaughlin. While Lynn Ceglie, Ward 2, and Kate Leonard, Ward 3, ran unopposed.

According to unofficial results Winthrop, Napolitano, Bova and Florez have been the four chosen to fill the four empty seats on City Council.

Non-Partisan Council-At-Large City of Newport

4 to elect
Candidate Total votes Pct
Henry F. Winthrop 4481 21.1%
Jeanne Marie Napolitano 4196 19.7%
Jamie P. Bova 3659 17.2%
John F. Florez 3410 16.0%
Justin S. McLaughlin 3294 15.5%
Kimberly L. Shute 1159 5.5%
Claude Andrews Lavarre 959 4.5%

Those who live in the 1st Ward of Newport had the choice between Marco Camacho and Susan Taylor.

According to unofficial results, Taylor has walked away victorious.

Non-Partisan Council Newport Ward 1

Candidate Total votes Pct
Susan D. Taylor 979 52.5%
Marco T. Camacho 875 47.0%
WRITE-IN 9 0.5%

Voters had the option to choose seven out of twelve candidates (and the option to write-in their own candidate) to fill the seven At-Large seats on the Newport School Committee.

Adrienne Haylor, Ray Gomes, Jennifer Jackson, Henry Kniskern and Thomas Phelan ran against current Newport School Committee Members – Rebecca Bolan, David Carlin, Sandra Flowers, Jo Eva Gaines, David Hanos Jr.,  Robert Leary and Kathleen Silvia.

According to unofficial results; Gomes, Silvia, Gaines, Bolan, Flowers, Carlin and Hanos will represent the seven empty seats on Newport School Committee.

Non-Partisan School Committee City of Newport

7 to elect
Candidate Total votes Pct
Raymond E. Gomes 3411 11.0%
Kathleen M. Silvia 3228 10.4%
Jo Eva Gaines 3042 9.8%
Rebecca Bolan 2988 9.6%
Sandra J. Flowers 2835 9.2%
David R. Carlin, III 2743 8.9%
David Charles Hanos, Jr. 2476 8.0%
Robert J. Leary 2445 7.9%
Jennifer Elizabeth Jackson 2035 6.6%
Henry P. Kniskern 2034 6.6%
Thomas S. Phelan 1882 6.1%
Adrienne Clemente Haylor 1764 5.7%
WRITE-IN 82 0.3%

All seats are for two-year terms.

The Latest From WUN

Ryan Belmore has been the Owner & Publisher of What's Up Newp since 2012. He also currently works for Mountain News, where he serves as Senior Editor - North America for OnTheSnow. He previously worked for the New England Patriots and American Cancer Society. He currently serves as Vice President of Fort Adams Trust and is a member of Local Independent Online News (LION) Publishers and North American Snowsports Journalists Association (NASJA).