Rhode Island State House

The 16 newly elected members of the Rhode Island General Assembly — an incoming class that includes 12 in the House of Representatives and 4 in the Senate — will participate in an all-day orientation session on Tuesday, Nov. 29, at the State House.

The Biennial Legislative Orientation Session will begin at 9:15 a.m. and run until 2:30 p.m. It will include welcomes and addresses from Speaker of the House Nicholas A. Mattiello and President of the Senate M. Teresa Paiva Weed. Also meeting with their new members will be House Majority Leader K. Joseph Shekarchi, Senate Majority Leader Dominick J. Ruggerio, House Minority Leader Patricia L. Morgan and Senate Minority Leader Dennis L. Algiere.

The orientation program will include introductions of the directors of various legislative offices, including the House and Senate chiefs of staff, and a budget process presentation by the House and Senate fiscal office advisors. Other discussion sessions during the day will focus on the legislative process, legislative duties and communications, and the legislators-elect will also have an opportunity for training on the legislative web site and computer system.

Expected to attend the day’s events are the following newly-elected legislators, who will be sworn into office on the first day of the 2016 General Assembly session, Tuesday, January 3:

·         Representative-elect Moira J. Walsh (D-Dist. 3, Providence).
·         Representative-elect Marcia Ranglin-Vassell (D-Dist. 5, Providence).
·         Representative-elect Ramon Perez (D-Dist. 13, Providence, Johnston).
·         Representative-elect Camille Vella-Wilkinson (D-Dist. 21, Warwick).
·         Representative-elect Evan Shanley (D-Dist. 24, Warwick).
·         Representative-elect Julie Casimiro (D-Dist. 31, North Kingstown, Exeter).
·         Representative-elect Robert Quattrocchi (R-Dist. 41, Scituate, Cranston).
·         Representative-elect Alex Marszalkowski (D-Dist. 52, Cumberland).
·         Representative-elect Helder Cunha (D-Dist. 64, East Providence).
·         Representative-elect Jason Knight (D-Dist. 67, Barrington, Warren).
·         Representative-elect Susan Donovan (D-Dist. 69, Bristol, Portsmouth).
·         Representative-elect Kenneth J. Mendonça (R-Dist. 72, Portsmouth, Middletown).
·         Senator-elect Ana B. Quezada (D-Dist. 2, Providence).
·         Senator-elect James A. Seveney (D-Dist. 11, Portsmouth, Bristol, Tiverton).
·         Senator-elect Thomas J. Paolino (R-Dist. 17, Lincoln, North Providence, North Smithfield)
·         Senator-elect Jeanine Calkin (D-Dist. 30, Warwick).

Source: State of Rhode Island General Assembly

Ryan Belmore is the Owner and Publisher of What'sUpNewp. 
Belmore has been involved with What’sUpNewp since shortly after its launch in 2012, proudly leading it to be named Best Local News Blog in Rhode Island by Rhode Island Monthly readers in 2018, 2019, and 2020 and an honorable mention in the Common Good Awards in 2021.

Born and raised in Rhode Island, Belmore graduated from Coventry High School and the Community College of Rhode Island. In addition to living in Newport for 10 years, he has lived in Portsmouth, Coventry, Providence, Smithfield, Burrillville, and East Greenwich.

Belmore currently serves as Vice President of the Board Of Directors for Fort Adams Trust and on the Board of Directors for Potter League For Animals. He previously served on the Board of Lucy's Hearth and the Arts & Cultural Alliance for Newport County.

Belmore and his wife, Jen, currently live in Alexandria, Virginia, a move they made in 2021. Read more about that here - https://whatsupnewp.com/2021/09/letter-from-the-publisher-some-personal-news/

Belmore visits Newport every couple of weeks to support the 12+ paid contributors What'sUpNewp has on the ground across Rhode Island, a place he called home for 39 years.

Belmore is a member of Local Independent Online News (LION) Publishers, Society of Professional Journalists, and the North American Snowsports Journalists Association.

In 2020, Belmore was named Member of the Year by LION and won the Arts & Cultural Alliance of Newport County's Dominque Award.
Belmore can be contacted at ryan@whatsupnewp.com and 401-662-1653.