Rep. Lauren H. Carson honored members of the Rhode Island League of Women Voters at the State House today for their organization’s 100th anniversary. From left are Linda Jenkins of Tiverton, Susan Escherich of East Providence, Nina Rossomando of Westerly, Representative Carson, Marian Styles-McClintock of Providence and Hollie Courage of Providence.

Representative Lauren Carson (D-Dist. 75, Newport) today honored the Rhode Island League of Women Voters on its upcoming centennial with a resolution presented to representatives of the state chapter.

“The League of Women Voters has always advocated tirelessly to shape public policy in support of greater equality, voter access and participation, health care, education, employment and a safer environment. Our country and our state are stronger and more inclusive because of the league’s work over the last century, and I’m sure we will continue to benefit from its members’ efforts for many years to come,” said Representative Carson in a prepared statement.

The Rhode Island League of Women Voters is celebrating its centennial, having been founded by the Rhode Island Equal Suffrage Association on April 1, 1919, a year before the national organization formed and a year before the ratification of the 19th Amendment guaranteed women the right to vote.

The league is dedicated to informed and active participation in elections. It has long run “get out the vote” campaigns as well as hosting presidential debates.

The House today approved a resolution (2019-H 5981) Representative Carson sponsored offering congratulations to both the national league and the local chapter for their century of successful advocacy.

On hand for the passage of the resolution were Hollie Courage of Providence, the past state and Providence League president; Susan Escherich of East Providence, a state board member and member-at-large; Marian Styles-McClintock of Providence, a member of the Providence League of Women Voters and former state board member; Claire Nelson of Middletown, a member of the Newport County League; Linda Jenkins of Tiverton, a member of the Newport County League; Nina Rossomando of Westerly, president of the South County League; and Dotty Stumpf of Westerly, a member of the South County League.